United We Fall.

Divisions. That is what we have been talking about. God has gifted us all differently and we are to rejoice in our gifts and the gifts of others.

I have always wanted to be an amazing athlete. Growing up in small town Minnesota, sports were everything. It also did not help when your dad is your high school’s coach for boy’s varsity basketball, girls varsity volleyball, and both golf teams. My older brother got an award for playing a sport every season for every year of high school. You can find him on the pictures of the basketball team, soccer team, cross country team, track team, and golf team. And yes, some of these seasons overlapped, and he still did them all. My sister was good as well. Being the shorty of the family we watched her play guard in basketball, setter in volleyball, and run relays in track. She is playing both volleyball and basketball now in college, finishing up her senior year.

The hardest decision I had to make in high school was not to try out for basketball my senior year. I was having issues with my coach (this one wasn’t my dad) and there was no way it was going to be a good season with all of this drama. I felt like I had let everyone down. I had had dreams of storming the court and being the star of the team. I wanted the crowd to cheer my name and for my amazing skills to inspire others.

God said no. My dreams of being a star athlete were never recognized. Instead he pointed out other talents to me and I had to check my pride and my jealousy as I cheered on my classmates, my teammates, and my siblings.

God will say no to our dreams every once in a while, and we have to be okay with that. Not only do we have to learn to be okay with it, we have to learn to cheer on the people who He did say yes too.

1 Chronicles 28

“1 David summoned all the officials of Israel to assemble at Jerusalem: the officers over the tribes, the commanders of the divisions in the service of the king, the commanders of thousands and commanders of hundreds, and the officials in charge of all the property and livestock belonging to the king and his sons, together with the palace officials, the warriors and all the brave fighting men.

King David rose to his feet and said: “Listen to me, my fellow Israelites, my people. I had it in my heart to build a house as a place of rest for the ark of the covenant of the Lord, for the footstool of our God, and I made plans to build it. But God said to me, ‘You are not to build a house for my Name, because you are a warrior and have shed blood.’

He said to me: ‘Solomon your son is the one who will build my house and my courts, for I have chosen him to be my son, and I will be his father. I will establish his kingdom forever if he is unswerving in carrying out my commands and laws, as is being done at this time.’

“And you, my son Solomon, acknowledge the God of your father, and serve him with wholehearted devotion and with a willing mind, for theLord searches every heart and understands every desire and every thought. If you seek him, he will be found by you; but if you forsakehim, he will reject you forever. 10 Consider now, for the Lord has chosen you to build a house as the sanctuary. Be strong and do the work.” . . .

20 David also said to Solomon his son, “Be strong and courageous, and do the work. Do not be afraid or discouraged, for the Lord God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you or forsake you until all the work for the service of the temple of the Lord is finished. 21 The divisions of the priests and Levites are ready for all the work on the temple of God, and every willing person skilled in any craft will help you in all the work. The officials and all the people will obey your every command.'”

God has called us to be warriors. He calls some to be the mightiest of warriors. He may call some of us to be the least of the warriors, but we might be charged with another spiritual gift. David was known as the man after God’s own heart, but he was not allowed to build God a temple. That was David’s dream, to build God a beautiful house of worship, but it was not David’s task, it was not what God desired from him.

We must find out what our gifts are and how God desires us to use them. We must find what God desires for us to do. As warriors we must trust in our almighty commander to give us commands and even if they do not seem to make sense to us, even if we think we should be going left but He tells us to go right, we must trust in him. There may be certain tasks and dreams that we will be called to abandon. There may be a task that looks less desirable than others, but God may be asking us to do that task for Him, and if a task is for Him, then that task is a glorious one.

If we all cling to the task that will bring us the most honor and praise here on earth, then there will be so many important tasks left undone. We may not be called to build God’s temple. In instances where we are told no, then we should look to David, he still encouraged those who had been called to fulfill his dream.

About KrisFraser

I believe that this world, like me, is falling to pieces. It is trying to find itself, rearrange itself, and establish itself again, and again and again. This blog is me, standing at the edge of a lake, casting the smooth stones to make them skip, and to create as many ripples as I can. View all posts by KrisFraser

Leave a Reply

