A Song. A Prayer.

I need Thee every hour.

Do you ever have it where you go to bed at night and it has been a rough day, or week, or month, or season, and you slip into your comfy bed and think, “Tomorrow will be better. I will try harder. I will be better.  I will hit the ground running and I will accomplish everything that needs accomplishing. I will do it all with a smile on my face and a spring in my step and the day will be wonderful. Yep, in 24 hours I will be crawling into bed with a sense of satisfaction and pride instead of this feeling of disappointment in myself and in the day. That is what I am going to do.”

Most Gracious Lord.

So you wake up . . . after hitting the snooze twice. You realize that you are out of coffee and after checking your bank account balance you realize that you cannot afford to buy one at Starbucks either. *Sigh*. Getting ready for work you realize that your pants are fitting a little snug. Your hair will not stay the way you want it to. You get to work, but you are running a little late.

No tender voice like Thine, can peace afford.

You sit down at your desk to have your supervisor point out an error that you made in one of your projects. It is something that must be done over and instead of starting on a new task you have to spend an hour on the project you thought was completed. A project that you had worried about and you were happy to have completed and accomplished.

What did you do wrong? What did I do wrong? Because if this was your day as well, I would like to tell you that me too. Luckily my supervisor is also a close friend and a strong spiritual leader. So as a few tears leaked through all the stress of my morning she laid her hands on my shoulders and she prayed. Oh, God. Where had I put him this morning? As her prayer washed over me I felt a little lighter and a little happier. I can still do this. . . I mean, He, He can still do this. I have already botched this day, but I know that he can salvage it.

I need thee, oh, I need thee;

Every hour I need thee;

Oh, bless me now, my savior,

I come to thee.

Amen.

I need Thee every hour.

Trusting in God and giving Him our day can be extremely hard. In our culture we are told that we should be self sufficient. We come from the American dream that we can be anything. If we are not what we want to be, well then we better pull ourselves up by our own bootstraps. What is even worse, we can come from a faith community that tells us we can do it all ourselves. “God will not give you something that you can’t handle!”

Stay Thou nearby.

So what does that say of us, what does that say of me when I lay down at night and I think “God, I can’t handle this. I can’t handle another day like this. Please don’t  let tomorrow be this way.” Whether it be a broken marriage, an abusive relationship, a broken family life, a life struggle, a death that hits you with grief, a mental illness, a break up, a day in the life of a high schooler, a major disappointment . . or anything! There are a lot of things that we cannot handle. And That Is Okay.

Temptations lose their pow’r when Thou art nigh.

We do not have to handle everything. We can give it over to God for him to handle instead (which sometimes feels even harder to do). Our God is the creator of the universe. He is also our Father, perfect in love. What loving father doesn’t love to reach down and help his child with their stress, their injuries, and their hurts. The things that haunt is, the things that tempt us, the things that burden us, we do not have to “handle” them. We can just hand them over.

I need thee, oh, I need thee;

Every hour I need thee;

Oh, bless me now, my savior,

I come to thee.

Amen.

I need Thee every hour.

God should not be forgotten when we are hurting. I find that it seems easy to praise God and give Him thanks! I love to sing worship songs to our Lord and to give prayers of thanksgiving. When I am hurting, however, I like to hide and pretend that I got this. I don’t want to say a prayer of confession, confessing hurts. I do not want to tell God how I am hurting. I want Him to be proud of me and to only see me at my best.

In joy or in pain.

I know that other people think  differently. When things are going great it can be easy to take all the credit and be proud of yourself. When times are great and the money is flowing it is easy to think about how much you deserve this after all the hard work you did. However, when the hard times hit and the struggles roll in that is when you hit your knees and pray. That is when you can find God and cast your troubles on him.

We should hit our knees then and cast our troubles on him, but we have to make sure that we praise Him for the successes He helps bring to us too.

Come quickly and abide, or life is in vain.

God does not cause us pain, but He can help us through it and turn it into a joy. There is pain, suffering, and sin in this world because we were given freedom back in the garden with Adam and Eve. They chose freedom for all of us, and with our freedom we often make the wrong choices. The wrong choices that also bring consequences. Luckily, this life is not all that is store for us. Have you ever felt there  must be more? C.S. Lewis said it best, “If we find ourselves with a desire that nothing in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that we were made for another world.”

I need thee, oh, I need thee;

Every hour I need thee;

Oh, bless me now, my savior,

I come to thee.

Amen.

About KrisFraser

I believe that this world, like me, is falling to pieces. It is trying to find itself, rearrange itself, and establish itself again, and again and again. This blog is me, standing at the edge of a lake, casting the smooth stones to make them skip, and to create as many ripples as I can. View all posts by KrisFraser

Leave a Reply

