What Proof Do We Have of God?

I am not a scientist. I am not a studied theologian. I am not even good at debating. So why am I opening this can of worms with the question in the title, well, because people who do not believe it ask us, and it is hard to answer.

The only answer I have to give is that we are the answer.

Did you watch the video? It is important. If you skipped it, go back and press play, I will wait. . . . . Okay, are we all ready now? Good.

Let my life be the proof, not, let my scientific reasoning, or my theological answers, or my great arguments be the proof, no. Let my life be the proof. The proof of His love.

I was thinking of this band recently, For King and Country. Between the fact that I have seen them twice in concert this summer and because the Kingdom Warriors blog wrote a post with that title, the phrase has been on my mind.

During the band’s concerts, and in the blog post linked above, it is explained that “For king and country!” was a rallying cry issued before battle. It reminds the men that they are fighting for something more than just themselves. They are fighting for something much larger and grander than just their everyday lives. The are fighting for king and country. We are fighting for the King and our heavenly country. We are trying to be warriors here aren’t we?

In the music video for “The Proof of Your Love”, the preview to which you watched above, the band looks at how our lives should be for something bigger than ourselves. A burst of courage for something greater, an act of love reminiscent of something perfect. Over an instrumental break they read 1 Corinthians 13 from The Message.

“If I speak with human eloquence and angelic ecstasy but don’t love, I’m nothing but the creaking of a rusty gate.

If I speak God’s Word with power, revealing all his mysteries and making everything plain as day, and if I have faith that says to a mountain, “Jump,” and it jumps, but I don’t love, I’m nothing.

If I give everything I own to the poor and even go to the stake to be burned as a martyr, but I don’t love, I’ve gotten nowhere. So, no matter what I say, what I believe, and what I do, I’m bankrupt without love.”

So even if I had your answer, even if I had scientific reasoning and theological evidence that proved without a doubt that my God is real, I would not convince anyone of anything unless I loved them as well. The “answer” would be worth nothing.

The band offered this challenge at their concert. Why would the world want your God? When the world looks at you, when they look at Christians, if all they see is judgement, despair, anger, and heartbreak, why would they want that? They already have that. The proof that God exists, the proof that we have something worth living and fighting for, that is all in our love.

This is our rallying cry, warriors. “For King and country! For our lives to be the proof! Chhaaarrrggge!!!!!”

About KrisFraser

I believe that this world, like me, is falling to pieces. It is trying to find itself, rearrange itself, and establish itself again, and again and again. This blog is me, standing at the edge of a lake, casting the smooth stones to make them skip, and to create as many ripples as I can. View all posts by KrisFraser

2 responses to “What Proof Do We Have of God?

  • Andrew

    Beautifully said Kris! It reminds me of a saying I have heard “people don’t care how much you know, until they know how much you care”. The way we live our lives is a testimony to God’s goodness and love.
    (Ps. Thanks for referring to my blog, that’s very exciting! I love the way God lines things up at the right time!)

Leave a Reply

