Excuses, Excuses

My last post still left us in the time of Judges in Israel. Deborah and stay at home Jael had just played vital roles in taking down some of Israel’s enemies. *Blows on knuckles, rubs on shirt* Yea, those boys needed some help. The warriors weren’t cutting it, so God sent in some women and his angel army to help. Judges 5 ended with “Then the land had piece for forty years.”

Well, times up. When Judges 6 picks up those forty years are over and God needs some new warriors.

“ 11 The angel of the Lord came and sat down under the oak in Ophrah that belonged to Joash the Abiezrite, where his son Gideon was threshing wheat in a winepress to keep it from the Midianites. 12 When the angel of the Lord appeared to Gideon, he said, “The Lord is with you, mighty warrior.”

13 “Pardon me, my lord,” Gideon replied, “but if the Lord is with us, why has all this happened to us? Where are all his wonders that our ancestors told us about when they said, ‘Did not the Lord bring us up out of Egypt?’ But now the Lord has abandoned us and given us into the hand of Midian.” “

Now, I am not sure about you, but if I had a celestial being show up at my place of work and great me with a “Hello there mighty warrior.” I am not sure I would respond the way Gideon did, I am not sure I would respond at all.

It is so easy to pass by the compliments we receive. It seems to be human nature that we overlook the good in the conversation and go straight to the bad, straight to our complaints. Gideon seems completely unfazed and unappreciative of the title and the compliment he is given, might warrior. Instead, he goes straight into his complaint. “*Ppphh* Lord with me? Seriously? I am working here, sweating my butt off to quick get this crop in before our enemies come and steal it all. There are so many terrible things going on. Why would God let this happen to us? Sure, He was nice to our ancestors way, way back. But now? This God of yours is not with us, or with me.”

So easily we complain. So easily we look at all the wrong in our lives. So easily we get upset about all the evil in the world. So easily we overlook that we are called warriors.

Good thing the person talking to Gideon is not a person. Unlike us, he skips the complaints, skips the bad, skips pointing fingers and goes straight back to the compliment.

“ 14 The Lord turned to him and said, “Go in the strength you have and save Israel out of Midian’s hand. Am I not sending you?”

15 “Pardon me, my lord,” Gideon replied, “but how can I save Israel? My clan is the weakest in Manasseh, and I am the least in my family.”

16 The Lord answered, “I will be with you, and you will strike down all the Midianites, leaving none alive.” “

Luckily, Gideon seems to get past his humanness here. He seems to realize that this is beyond his problems and his feeling of abandonment. Just one ounce of his human doubt remains, and that is in his excuse. “How can I do this? My family is not the best, richest, strongest, or biggest, and I am not even the best, richest, strongest, or biggest one in my family. I am the weakest, really. You have the wrong man.”

God never has the wrong man. Why? Because it does not matter who God chooses, it is really God’s power that is sending us. He tells Gideon to “go in the power you have . . . Am I not sending you?” He tells Gideon to take his scrawny self, it will be enough, because God will be the rest. “I will be with you.”

You may feel weak. You may feel like your past, your family, your ancestry, or your genetics are holding you back. They are not. God calls everyone. The next warrior that I will be talking about is the son of a prostitute who is rejected by his own family. Your parents do not have to be the most Godly for you to be worth God’s calling. Your family tree can be filled with addictions, mental illnesses, bad decisions, abuse, divorce, or whatever you can think of, it does not matter. You, personally, can be filled with all of those things and it does not matter.

All it matters is that if God is sending you, He will be with you. He will show up and call you a warrior and will not only help you defeat the enemy, but decimate them. God’s power is the ultimate and it is final. You will strike down every last enemy, leaving none of them alive.

About KrisFraser

I believe that this world, like me, is falling to pieces. It is trying to find itself, rearrange itself, and establish itself again, and again and again. This blog is me, standing at the edge of a lake, casting the smooth stones to make them skip, and to create as many ripples as I can. View all posts by KrisFraser

Leave a Reply

